Super easy banana bread

I absolutely adore banana bread, especially toasted with a generous amount of butter spread over it. Whenever I see banana bread in a cafe or supermarket, I feel an urge to pick it up and smell the delicious aromas. This has now become a habit of mine if I don’t stop myself and according to my brother it is unusual behaviour. I just like the smell of banana bread, who doesn’t!?!?! I came across this recipe on Simply Recipes and wanted to try it out. I liked this recipe in particular because it doesn’t require the use of a mixer which can contaminate my food with gluten when old cake mix gets stuck in the nooks and crannies.

I have tweaked the recipe a bit to have less sugar as I find it quite sweet already but you may like to increase it a bit. I also substituted the flour for a GF flour mix. The one I have used today is the “Has No…” brand from Aldi. It’s the cheapest GF pre-mixed flour I have found so far in Sydney and I think it works just fine. The amount of time for baking may vary. I don’t have a fan forced oven so the bottom cooked faster than the top and it ended up being a little under cooked this time around.

Banana Bread

Gluten free, egg free, vegetarian, soy free, nut free

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 overripe bananas (you can freeze them till you need them and then thaw when you are ready)
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups GF plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda/bicarb soda

Method:

1. Pre-heat oven to 175 Celsius.

2. Grease a loaf pan with butter.

3. In a large bowl  roughly mash the bananas. You can leave them chunky so you get bits of banana.

20130719_202317

Mashed ‘nana

4. Add the melted butter and mix.

Make sure its melted butter.

Make sure its melted butter.

5. Mix in the sugar, vanilla and egg.

The rest of the fixin's

The rest of the fixin’s

6. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt and then mix. Best if you sieve the baking soda because it can be a bit clumpy and it doesn’t taste good with blobs of it.

7. Add flour last and mix thoroughly.

It will get really sticky!

It will get really sticky!

8. Transfer to the loaf pan (it is pretty sticky) and smooth the top. Bang the pan on the bench top to get rid of excess air pockets.

9. Bake for 45-60min or until cooked inside and golden on top.

10. Cool on a rack and then enjoy!

20130719_222446

Nom nom nom!

***Originally published July 2013 on my previous blog***

Leave a Reply

