Hommus (RPAH elim friendly)

Firstly, I’d like to apologise for not posting anything for 6 weeks. The first two weeks I was cruising in the South Pacific and internet was at a premium price. Then I had four weeks in Europe for a conference and some lab visits. I had all intentions of posting while I was away but travelling had taken its toll. Since I have returned (five days ago) I have already finished one batch of hommus so I thought I would share my super easy failsafe recipe.

Hommus 1

Failsafe hommus

Gluten free, dairy free, soy free, egg free, nut free, vegan, failsafe

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chickpeas (drained)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup canola oil (or any other oil you can tolerate)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon citric acid
  • Garlic to taste

Method:

  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor and whiz away till you have a smooth paste! Literally that is it!

The longer I whiz the more smooth it gets but it’s a compromise because my food processor is loud. Some people peel the chickpeas and it does yield a smoother result but it takes a lot of effort to peel a whole can.

If you leave it for a while it can start to separate but it is still good, just give it a mix.

Hope you enjoy it!

Hommus 2

Leave a Reply

