Pancakes (RPAH elim friendly)

Whoever came up with pancakes is a genius! I love hot breakfasts because I grew up with my mumma fixing up epic meals to keep me going through the day at school. Breakfast pho anyone? Seriously, I got noodles for breakkie many a time. All my asian friends be jelly. Pancakes are so easy to make, but I’ll be honest you do have to get up a few minutes earlier to prep but if you are super lazy like moi then you prep it the night before and zap them in the microwave to heat them up. I did when I was travelling around America. Too easy my friends so no excuses.

Pancakes

 

Pancakes

Gluten free, dairy free, soy free, nut free, failsafe

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup GF self-raising flour (I use a soy free blend from Aldi)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar (white sugar if you going failsafe)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup rice milk (or you can substitute any other milk)
  • Extra baking powder (optional)
  • Oil or butter/nuttelex to fry

Method:

  1. Place the flour and sugar in a mixing bowl. If you only have plain flour then add 2 teaspoons of baking powder to make it self raising. Some flour blends don’t rise very much so you can add a little more baking powder to help it along, something along the lines of 1/2-1 teaspoon.
  2. Make a little well in the middle and add the egg and most of the milk and start whisking the liquid around and dragging in little bits of flour at the interface of the liquid and flour as you go. If you go and mix the whole lot in one go then you most likely get lumps so just be patient go slow from inside out and you will save time later trying to get lumps out.
  3. Check the consistency once its smooth, you are looking for a thick-ish pancake batter. Add a bit more milk if it is too thick. Add a bit more flour if you need to thicken a watery batter. My pancake batter usually takes just a tad under 1 cup. If it is too thin it will spread too much in the pan and won’t be thick and fluffy.
  4. On medium heat, pop a bit of oil or nuttelex/butter in a pan and pour some batter on to the size you want. Smaller is easier to flip. When bubbles start to form and it is solid enough to slide around the pan then its ready to flip. Then cook till golden.

For a failsafe option I have it with some golden syrup or dairy free caramel sauce with some pears. Have it any way you like it though! Below I had them when I was doing an amine challenge so I had dark chocolate and bananas. Needless to say I flared like cray so I won’t be doing that ever again! If you can get you hands on Rice Dream ice cream, it is the BEST (also send me a message of where you got it because I can’t find it in Australia)!!!

Choc banana pancakes

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

